Travel Grants

CFD Society of Canada Graduate Travel Award for CFDSC 2017

VALUE: $500


FUNDING BY:    CFD Society of Canada        (

DESCRIPTION: The CFD Society of Canada will award up to ten travel grants of $500 to defray the cost of graduate student air/train/bus/car travel to attend the 2017 conference in Windsor.

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS: The applicant must be a full time student in a Masters or Ph.D. level graduate studies program at an accredited Canadian university. Additional eligibility requirements are included within the award description.

Grant recipients are chosen by a selection committee of the CFD Society of Canada.

The following criteria will be considered:

  • Travel distance from the university to the conference site
  • Author or co-author in a submitted abstract, presenter
  • Quality of the research project
  • Grades

Applications for travel grants are submitted by the student. The application package should include the following:

  • CFDSC Student Travel Grant Application Form (the following two pages in this pdf file)
  • Unofficial transcripts signed by the studentʼs academic advisor will be accepted in lieu of official transcripts
  • Lists of scholarships and publications
  • Description of research


  • Dr. Catherine Mavriplis, University of Ottawa (
  • application should be attached to the email as a single pdf file:

file name CFDSC2017_Travel_YourName.pdf

  • email subject line: CFDSC Student Travel Grant

For details and the application form of the Graduate Travel Award, please see CFDSC_Travel Award 2017.

2014 Travel Grants ($500)

Jean-Christophe Veilleux, Laval University
Mahkame Sharbatdar, University of British Columbia
Mohammad Reza Haghgoo, University of Saskatchewan
Matthieu Boudreau, Laval University
William Schuyler Hinman, University of Calgary
Bertrand Muslin, ÉTS
Kohei Fukuda, University of Windsor
Steven Wilson, University of Calgary
Alireza Jalali, University of British Columbia
Siddharth Raval, University of New Brunswick

2013 Travel Grants

Gus Nasif, University of Windsor
Haruka Nakayama, Concordia University
Mehrdad Shademan, University of Windsor
Dorian Pena, École Polytechnique
Christopher Arisman, University of Calgary